The best Christmas carols ever

I’ve written about my candidate for the worst Christmas carol ever. On the other hand, here, in my opinion, are two of the best.

Atheist though I am, I’ve always had a soft spot for “O Holy Night” — even though it’s getting harder and harder to hear it done tastefully, as singers nowadays seem to see it as an excuse for bombast and vocal gymnastics. I grew up listening to this incomparably lovely version by Nana Mouskouri, whose straightforward style lets the exquisitely haunting melody shine through:

Another wonderful version, by the group Celtic Woman:

And the second song, which I’ve posted before, is the very touching (and uncharacteristically sentimental) “White Wine in the Sun” by Tim Minchin. A perfect encapsulation of what, for me, is the true meaning of Christmas:

Happy Holidays to all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

