A little revenge

What a day.

So much has happened since Osama bin Laden and his minions wreaked death and devastation on my city. And America has certainly done some shameful things in response, things I wish we could take back; 9/11 changed us and changed the world, in many ways not for the better. Bin Laden’s death doesn’t mean the “War on Terror” is over; I doubt that it will ever be over, unless you can kill a concept, or an idea. And his death won’t bring back everyone we’ve lost: the people in the burning towers, the firefighters racing up the stairs, the soldiers and innocents lost overseas, the hole in the city’s skyline and in the soul of the nation.

Still: bin Laden was a mass murderer, and his name was high on the extremely short list of people on whom I might have wished death (contrary to the sentiments of my previous post, I know). The fact that he met his death at the hands of those he grievously injured does mean something. I won’t say I find closure in this; I’m not sure what I find in this, unless it’s a little bit of peace. At the very least, it means the verses in Springsteen’s song feel a little less like wishful thinking, and a little more like an affirmation, like something achieved.

House is on fire, viper’s in the grass
A little revenge and this too shall pass

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright.

At least for today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

